2019 A&O CLASS NOTES

ART & ORGANISM

OVERVIEW OF TOPICS

Class notes for 2019


These notes document the unfolding / blossoming of the spring seminar in 2018.   It provides only a rough guide as to what to expect in 2019 because it reflects the specific interests of the participants in A&O 2018.  The disciplinary core of the course, the spiral helix of ideas in “DEEP ETHOLOGY” (the integrative study of behavior) and “CAUSES AND CONSEQUENCES OF ART,” remains the same.


 

PROSPECTIVE A&O CLASS NOTES for 2019  (based on notes from 2018 discussions;  we should expect 2019 to grow in different ways–but always tethered to integrative biology and the nature of art and aesthetic experience) 

 

    •  A&O CLASS NOTES—January 22 ((EXISTENTIAL PHENOMENOLOGY, congenital and acquired BIASES: how WEIRD we are, Meaning and the Body)

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES—January 29  (REVIEW of Jan 22; INDIVIDUATION & SOCIALIZATION as a DYNAMIC BALANCE)

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES—February 5 (REVIEW of NEEDS, ADAPTATION, LEARNING; build on NEEDS & add to them, MUSIC; connect NEEDS with STRESS with ADAPTATION)

 

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–February 26 (Links to EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCE; assignments) from perception to hallucination (it’s all in the brain) Beauty and the Sublime

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–March 5 (Links to DEEP ART and “TRUTH”)

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–March 12 (Links to “is it ART or ARTIFACT?” Fragmentary evidence and ecphory)

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–March 19  (artifacts and objets trouve; outsider art.  Reality Testing; adaptive functions of art)

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–March 26– “what can Paleolithic art tell us about the dawn of consciousness.”  

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–April 2 – ideas pulled together by talk on Paleolithic art, what stood out for you, and questions remaining or emergent; COMMUNICATIONS and RITUALIZATION

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–April 9  Ecology: optimality and search image as metaphors for aspects of cognition;  More on how language affects culture — Lena Boroditsky’s research

 

    • A&O CLASS NOTES–April 16 What does “meaning” mean?  for example, “the meaning of life”

 

  • A&O CLASS NOTES–April 23 Our Masks: layers of meaning?  Off-campus A&O Symposium schedule

A&O SYLLABUS

 map of sites on new server

SPRING 2019
Tuesday 1 January
Tuesday 8 January
Tuesday 15 January A&O (1)
Tuesday 22 January A&O (2)
Tuesday 29 January A&O (3)
Tuesday 5 February A&O (4)
Tuesday 12 February A&O (5)
Tuesday 19 February A&O (6)
Tuesday 26 February A&O (7)
Tuesday 5 March A&O (8)
Tuesday 12 March A&O (9)
Tuesday 19 March Spring Break
Tuesday 26 March A&O (10)
Tuesday 2 April A&O (11)
Tuesday 9 April A&O (12)
Tuesday 16 April A&O (13)
Tuesday 23 April A&O (14)
Friday 26 April CLASSES END
Tuesday 30 April EXAM
Tuesday 7 May EXAM
Tuesday 11 May Graduation
 

 


This year a short series of parallel lectures aimed at senior and retired ORNL scientists will be presented in Oak Ridge:  ART & ORGANISM at ORICL 2019

 

(opens in a new tab)